Andy Pelon joins the mile and a half high club

So after muchos travelling and still struggling with jet lag and altitude issues, I find myself a mile and a half above sea level in Quito , Ecuador.

This place is not what I expected, but I have to say it does grow on you. The ecuadorians describe Quito as bipolar, and now I understand why.

You look outside at the sun, put on your shorts and T shirt and run to get the bus into the city , 10 minutes later its freezing cold and pouring with rain, people look at the loco gringo and smile a knowing grin that says it all – the motto when staying in Quito is be prepared!

Now as some if you might know, I am slightly folic ally challenged,but in the main, I’m ok with that – until that is, we visit a nearby (ok so 2 hours is accepted as nearby in Ecuador) market for local indigenous crafts .

Not fair ! Huge hair envy ! All the stall holders are indigenous Indians and they have the most beautiful hair , almost everyone , man woman and child has a long thick black pony tail – so needless to say I was noticed , I stood out like a willy in a harem, and not in a good way.

Still, the market was pretty amazing, with dreams of my youth, I bought an amazing pair of tie die linen trousers – soooo cool , now where did input those joss sticks …..

So, Ecuador , yep generally a pretty cool place (apart from the rain) they seem like a happy bunch, and they do have some pretty amazing artists. We went to a lodge a few hours out of Quito which is owned by an artist – pictures follow, but wow ! Who knew a bunch of old glass bottles, a bucket of nails and some rebar could look so amazing ! Might have a go myself when I get back, how hard can it be ?

Well, thats me done for a few days, I’m out of practice with the whole blog thing so please bare with me, don’t give up on me, just gotta go find my mojo again..

take care mi amigo’s

Andy P 🙂

Amazing elephant made from old bottles - so cooool !

Amazing elephant made from old bottles – so cooool !

IMG_3947

Tee hee !

IMG_3942

these old ‘worry’ dolls look well used, maybe someone had a lot of worries

IMG_3939IMG_3920 IMG_3922IMG_3913IMG_3936

IMG_3909

The cacao cooperative we are trying to help is called Kallari – coming to a store near you soon!

 

Leave a comment