Sharing the house of Pelon with lovely people ..

This is a short blog to post some pictures of this amazing place (still have to pinch myself, so very lucky to be here !).

And to post a couple of reviews from the lovely people we have been lucky enough to have come stay in the downstairs flat recently .

If you’re reading this, and your looking for a short term place to lay your head and relax , maybe get in touch ?

Take care

Happiness

Andy P :-)o

Laura has just moved out , she stayed for a few weeks and wrote this ;

There are lots of details to like about the ground floor flat at 6 Hoopern Avenue! Comfy beds; a smart wet-room with a great shower; big doors that open out onto the garden, and then onto a view over fields. You could be in the countryside – it is so quiet and peaceful! – but actually you’re a skip and a hop from the University and the Northcott Theatre, and not much more from the town centre.

But it’s never the details that count when you stay somewhere new, it’s the atmosphere – partly created by the peaceful location and partly created by Andy You can ask him for a hand with anything, even the smallest thing. The flat on the ground floor is separate from Andy’s space upstairs though, so you have all the privacy you want.

Andy cares about the environment, which adds to the special feel of 6 Hoopern Avenue. Andy built this house himself, as well as his workshop and other accommodation on the same site, and has repurposed so many elements. I was continually delighted to notice how imaginative he has been with making something new out of something old.

There’s parking for a car and good Wi-Fi. Plenty of space to have a friend stay over on a sofa or spare mattress if your flatmate doesn’t mind. If you have the garden room then patio doors open straight out to a table and chair for an early morning cup of tea or evening glass of wine. There’s no “normal” oven (if the microwave works as an oven, then I never worked out how!), but I very happily made curries, chilli and stir-fries using the two hotplates and microwave! Plenty of fridge and freezer space, and the washing machine is in the kitchen too.

I couldn’t recommend Andy’s place and Andy himself as a landlord more highly!

Laura Duncan 07.03.16

Mona was finishing her PHD , originally from Palestine , she now lives in the UAE , often working and studying in the UK.
If you are looking to a lodge in a place that has a homely and comfortable feel to it than I highly recommend lodging at Andy beautiful house. During my stay Andy made me feel very comfortable and the house felt more like a home than a temporary place to lodge. Andy is very kind and strive to ensure that guests are feeling comfortable and this made a huge different in the quality of my stay. The room I stayed in overlooks a beautiful landscape of fields and beautiful greenery and I had access to my own bathroom, pantry and outdoor area and I had my own private entrance. The location of the house is beautiful overlooking the beautiful University of Exeter Park. In addition, it is only a 15 minutes’ walk from town. I highly recommend you to stay at Andy’s if you are looking for stunning, calm and serene surroundings and warm and kind landlords.

Lorraine was also studying for her PhD at Exeter and and stayed during last summer ..

I stayed with Andy at Hoppern Ave in July and August 2015. I have not only gained a lifelong friend, but also an extended family. It was a pleasure to stay with Andy The house is beautiful, very bright and set amongst beautiful landscape in Exeter. I enjoyed many summer days, sitting on the deck enjoying the beautiful sunshine.

For me, it was the perfect balance of privacy and living with others. When my kids stayed for one of the months, they were welcomed with open arms, something I will forever be grateful for.

It was very sad leaving Exeter and but I always know that I have a home away from home

  

Leave a comment